Getting back to “me”

The past few months I’ve been really distracted; I started a new job, I’m planning a wedding, we’ve had issues with our rental apartment and a myriad of other first world problems. This distraction has meant I haven’t done a proper blog post in ages, I haven’t been taking care of myself the way I like to and I haven’t been appreciating all of the little things I like to take time for.

When I moved to Vancouver two years ago, I walked to work every morning and found myself humbled by the fact that I had the privilege of living in such a beautiful city. I promised myself my walk to work along the seawall would be just me and my thoughts – no phone unless I was taking a photo. I looked forward to the views every morning and although they didn’t change, each day it felt like I was seeing it for the first time.

Somewhere along the way, my leisurely walk to work along the seawall was replaced by a route along a busy city street with significantly less scenery and a shorter commute time. I became so preoccupied with what was going on in my own life that I completely forgot to take step back  to enjoy what was going on around me. Sounds cheesy, but it’s true.

This morning, after realizing how long it had been since I had last taken that seawall route, I made a conscious choice to get back into my routine – and I’m so glad I did. The water was still, the air was crisp and the sand had been lightly dusted with frost; it was beautiful and peaceful and serene.

It took a few minutes longer than the other way – and even moreso this morning as I stopped to take it all in – but it really helped me feel back at home and made me realize I need to do “me” more often.

So, back to the morning routine, back to the gym on a regular basis and back writing again. Because, y’know, what’s the point of having a blog if you never use it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

