My adult Christmas wish list

As a kid, writing my list to Santa was one of my favourite holiday memories. I spent weeks thoughtfully researching my list, based on playground gossip, ads that appeared between segments of Saved By The Bell and Goosebumps and the weekly Toys ‘R Us flyer.

066_66

My Dad and brothers in the midst of a wrapping paper tornado on Christmas morning.

On Christmas morning, there was a smattering of presents around the tree and I almost always found my entire wish list wrapped in colourful paper – and then some. Our tree was beautifully decorated, there was family around and plenty of food to eat – I didn’t realize it at the time, but we were luckier than most.

I distinctly remember one Christmas at my Uncle Jerry’s place; I was excited my grandparents bought me a Nano Baby so I could “practice” my babysitting skills. I glanced over at my Uncle and was horrified by his pile – tea towels, kitchen utensils and lame grown-up stuff.

Sensing my eyes on him (and noticing the scowl on my face), he said “wait ‘til you get older kiddo – these sort of presents will make you excited, too.”

I couldn’t imagine ever being thrilled about something as ridiculous as a matching tea towel set – there were just too many other cool things I wanted like new clothes and gadgets and a TV for my room and the latest shoes. Those were the important things.

Fast forward 15 or so years and, thankfully, I’ve changed my tune. (Yes, you were right, Uncle J).

In fact, I had a really hard time giving my fiancé ideas this year. There really isn’t anything I need – or want – for that matter. I have more clothes and shoes than I know what to do with; we can afford to pay our rent and still save a little; we have a fully stocked fridge and we live in a beautiful city. We’re healthy, happy and if anything, still spoiled by many people’s standards.

It got me thinking… if I could make a list of all of the things I wanted whether they were attainable or not, what would it look like?

So, behold, my first official adult Christmas list. (Bear in mind, I don’t have kids, so you’ll notice an absence of “a weekend away from parenting” type inclusions below.)

  • Health

I plan to be around for another 50 or so years and will do my part to eat well and exercise, but I know sometimes that’s not enough. So, if I could have a guarantee my health would be as pristine as it is now, I’ll take two please.

  • Family & friends

My family and friends are amazing, even through we drive each other mental sometimes. Still, I don’t know what I’d do without them so please keep them around for the next several decades as well.

  • A year month without bills.

I completely took for granted not having to pay bills as a kid – I had no idea my parents made monthly mortgage, hydro, food, water, electricity and insurance payments. And this doesn’t even touch activities or savings. Life is expensive and I wouldn’t mind a month off… or two. If you’re really feeling generous, a year would be spectacular.

  • Magical restocking fridge

Life is expensive (see above). Plus, going to the grocery store is about as much fun as getting a leg wax. How awesome would it be to have a fridge that restocked itself?  If it could also throw a few bottles of Pinot in there every so often, I’d be in heaven.

  • More time

I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s found themselves out somewhere or on holiday or just sitting with someone and wishing to hold onto the moment a bit longer. So, I’ve added having more time for the things that are important – and the ability to hang onto those moments – as a wish list item.

  • A weekend of adolescent-inspired sleep

As a teenager, I could sleep through an earthquake. Now, if someone in the apartment three floors above me rolls over in their bed, I’m jolted awake – and stay that way for hours. Just for a weekend, I’d love to sleep in late without being woken up by something six floors up four times a night.

  • White Christmas

Call me a hopeless romantic, but there’s something so beautiful about waking up on Christmas morning to freshly fallen snow…. Except when it covers your doors and windows. So, if someone could arrange for a snow fall overnight on December 24 that’s not too excessive, and then melts before we have to drive in it, I’d be a satisfied customer.

So, there you have it Stu. I’m not entirely sure how you wrap some of those, but perhaps when you find out where to get them, the place will offer a gift wrapping service.

What’s on your wish list that money can’t buy?

 

One thought on “My adult Christmas wish list

Leave a Reply

